top of page

She- A Poem By The Child of The Cosmos


I Am Wendz

Bio: "A child of the cosmsos. A complicated beauty; raised on the edges of the visions of a rural girl, and a township boy. Plumped up by the sweet taste of sugar cane. Nostalgic wildlife running through my veins. My ever present childlike self embraced by my unmoving old soul. A gentle giant. A peaceful warrior."

This poem, She, was posted in celebration of International Women's Day. It was written and spoken by Wendz- a wonderful friend and sister to me. The beauty of her words, and the intensity with which she says those words is felt dearly as she expresses power, peace and rebirth to self. To all the woman listening to this poem, Happy Women's Day. The steps to creating a more equal society should always be celebrated, not just on this one day or this one month. But it is still good to know that we have time set aside to acknowledge how far we have come. To celebrate our womxnhood in all it's complexities. The fight may not be over, but that is why we still #PressforProgress.

I hope you enjoy the poem as much as I did. If you want to get into touch with the poet, you may contact her via Langa's House's email address. And if you want to see more work by her (like I do) definitely let me know because she still does not post much of her work, and that should be a crime to society. Jokes, but I love her work.

Video and quote visualization created and edited by Langa's House. If you would like to also have your poems or other forms of literary work featured under Langa's Guest House, you can get in touch with me via email on langashouse@gmail.com. Please be sure to include your bio, a picture of yourself (optional) and a voice recording (for poems and short pieces).

bottom of page