top of page

Seasonal Love- A Poem

How does one learn to love themselves when their love comes and goes like the seasons...?

Love

What is love when it is in relation to the self

My heart peeked into my soul and spied itself a goddess

But when it stood before societies mirror

It saw itself a hot mess

I wade through the crushed roses

And fallen leaves of my autumn self esteem

When love dried out

And things were no longer green

But some days are spring

And I spring back into the original image of self

When God’s love touches me so gently

When I become a choir of birds chirping self-praise

To my self-esteem

I stand in all my glory

A holy garden like Eden

On those days I am amazed

All the ways that I was made great

Some days Love comes at me hot and blazing

Like December in Summer

Yes, Summer in December

And love is hard but amazing

I want to shelter myself from the heat of it

But I also want to feel its warm upon my skin

So I gaze at it in wonder and amazement

But not too long because too much self-love

Like a blazing summer sun is not good for you

But there also comes winter

And enter into that cold darkness

When my heart and soul search for the warm of love

And long for Summer, maybe Spring

Those days, Societies mirror reflects its harsh glare

What is love?

I just want to hide under the covers and not face myself

What is love?

What is love?

What is love when it is in relation to the self?

My love comes in seasons

And like confused weather

Any season can come in any order

Any time of the day

Winter, spring, summer and autumn

Summer, Winter, Summer, Spring and Autumn

Winter, Summer, autumn, autumn, autumn

Spring.

What is love in relation to myself?

How do I learn to forever love myself

Instead of weathering all these seasons?

I wish it were always Summer and Spring

bottom of page